Sun Wei Xiong sets the bar at Championships Event Day 1A; Chevan Tin Tsz Wang and Qian Song win trophies

After eight hours of Championships Event action at Paradise City Casino, Day 1A came to a close with 40 players advancing to Day 2. The Championships Event is the second featured tournament of APT Korea Incheon 2019 and it comes with a KRW 200,000,000 guarantee. 

Day 1A dragged in 78 entries with each one dishing out the KRW 1,980,000 cost to enter. Among the players through to the next round were APT major title-holders Guo Dong, Hung Sheng Lin, Iori Yogo, and recently crowned Tsang Dicky Su Hang. However these players took a backseat to the heat ending leader Sun Wei Xiong from China with 255,000 in chips. 

Other notables in the qualifiers lineup were Pete Yen Han Chen, Vincent Li, Wilson Lim, Chen Hao, Andy Li, and Ray Chiu. See below for the chip counts. 

Championships Event Day 1A Chip Count

Rank Name Country Chips
1 Sun Wei Xiong China 255,000
2 Sanshiro Haruta Japan 204,000
3 Chi Chung Ho Hong Kong 180,400
4 Guo Dong China 168,800
5 Chung Ming Sang Hong Kong 161,700
6 Go Saito Japan 157,500
7 Jwa Hyung Kim Korea 157,100
8 Wilson Lim Singapore 152,900
9 Tsang Dicky Siu Hang Hong Kong 133,200
10 Kengo Sakurai Japan 130,200
11 Liu Feng China 125,900
12 Tian Hao China 122,400
13 Chen Hao China 113,800
14 Low Chi Wai Hong Kong 113,300
15 Masato Shimizu Japan 106,600
16 Hisashi Tamura Japan 102,600
17 Yik Ray Chiu Hong Kong 100,900
18 Graeme Siow Singapore 96,500
19 Kunimaro Kojo Japan 89,100
20 Kwok Chun Lai Hong Kong 85,000
21 Andrew An United States 80,300
22 Hirotaka Nakanishi Japan 80,000
23 Zhu Jingxuan China 76,100
24 Su Fang China 75,000
25 Elden Troy McGladaddery Singapore 71,800
26 Wang Wiyi China 69,700
27 Xiao Tiao Yang China 68,000
28 Shota Arata Japan 64,300
29 Li Aleksey Uzbekistan 61,500
30 Andy Li Xu Yan Singapore 56,300
31 Hiroyuki Noda Japan 49,500
32 Vincent Li Kwan Ngai Hong Kong 47,900
33 Jie Xu China 47,800
34 Kawai Katsohito Japan 47,200
35 Pete Yen Han Chen Taiwan 45,300
36 Sean Robert Kauffman United States 42,700
37 Hung-Sheng Lin Taiwan 42,300
38 Iori Yogo Japan 38,800
39 Louis Bilodeau Japan 34,100
40 Mitsunori Tokumi Japan 22,500

Advancing players will have a one day break before returning to the race on Sunday, August 11 for Day 2. They await the results of Day 1B. Players unable to sign up at Day 1B can jump in on Day 2 with one hour of registration available at the start. Additionally, the APT does allow for multiple stacks however only your best stack advances. 

Championships Event info 

Date: August 9 to 13 
Guarantee: KRW 200,000,000 (~USD 170,000)
Buy-in: KRW 1,980,000 (~USD 1,700)
Starting time: 1pm

Starting stack: 50,000 (250 times the opening big blind)
Opening blinds: 100 – 200
Blind intervals: 60 minutes

Festival booklet – event structure in page 7

Day 1A: Friday, August 9 – 40 out of 78 advanced
Day 1B: Saturday, August 10
Day 2: Sunday, August 11
Day 3: Monday, August 12
Final Day: Tuesday, August 13

Things to know:

  • The Championships Event utilizes the Ante BB format
  • Shot clock will be implemented when the tournament is down to the final six tables
  • Blinds escalate every 60 minutes
  • Day 1A, Day 1B, and Day 2 play a total of 8 levels
  • Multiple stacks allowed but only best stack advances
  • Registration closes at the start of level 10 in Day 2
  • Day 3 plays to the final 8 players
  • Official final table is 8 players

Bubble Protection

Bubble Protection will be in effect. It is one of the best Championships Event incentives to take advantage of. For those new to this promo, it is a type of insurance policy during the bubble round. If a protected player busts on the bubble, that player will receive their buy-in back in the form of APT tournament credits. Since its inception, numerous protected players have been saved from walking away empty-handed.

To be eligible, all you need to do is follow these three simple steps:

  • Pre-register
  • Draw for your seat before the starting time of 1pm
  • Have your chips put into play on the first deal of Level 1

*Eliminated players wanting bubble protection on the next starting day will have to qualify again.

Side Event results

All players in the money earned points towards the APT Player of the Series race. Make sure to check your standings via the link below. 

APT Player of Series standings

There are still plenty of side event trophies up for grabs and plenty of points to accrue to try and win the tour’s most honorable title.

Full APT Korea Incheon 2019 schedule 

Chevan Tin Tsz Wang wins the Pot Limit Omaha Hi #2

Another APT newbie has seized one of the APT Golden Lion trophies with Hong Kong’s Chevan Tin Tsz Wang rising above the 42 runners of the Pot Limit Omaha Hi #2 event. At the last stage, Wang powered past a final table filled with hungry Chinese and Japanese players to give Hong Kong their third side event title. Wang pocketed a career high KRW 7,001,000 (~USD 5,800) and his first-ever live tournament victory. Buy-in for this event was KRW 550,000 for a prize pool of KRW 20,370,000 (~US$ 16,800).  

1st Chevan Tin Tsz Wang – Hong Kong – KRW 7,001,000
2nd Tokunaga Shunsuke – Japan – KRW 4,499,000
3rd Tomoharu Furuya – Japan – KRW 3,033,000
4th Xixiang Luo – China – KRW 2,137,000
5th Masato Shimizu – Japan – KRW 1,568,000
6th Shoichi Horio – Japan – KRW 1,193,000
7th Jing Xuan Zhu – China – KRW 939,000

Qian Song wins the NLH Single Day #2

Running alongside Championships Event Day 1A was the NLH Single Day #2. This event drew the largest side event field of the series thus far with 107 entrants heating up the room. With buy-in at KRW 440,000 each, it amassed a juicy pot worth KRW 41,516,000. Only the top 18 players earned a share with China’s Qian Song raking in the largest of KRW 10,581,000 for his victory. 

This was another first time APT winner at the series. Song was the only player at the final 8 waving the flag for China. He defeated Kai Jan Chou at heads up.

Final 8 payouts
1st Qian Song – China – KRW 10,581,000
2nd Kai Jan Chou – Taiwan – KRW 7,056,000
3rd Artur Guynanov – Russia – KRW 4,905,000
4th Yusuke Maeda – Japan – KRW 3,543,000
5th Daisuke Arashi – Japan – KRW 2,649,000
6th Kenichi Takarabe – Japan – KRW 2,045,000
7th Kenchi Harada – Japan – KRW 1,624,000
8th Nozumu Shimizu – Japan – KRW 1,323,000