Stage is set of APT Championships Final 8 showdown

PASAY CITY, Philippines – From 30 players making it to Day 3 of the Asian Poker Tour (APT) 2022 Philippines Championships Event, the Final 8 emerge to contest the title and the top prize of PhP4,196,000 (US$74,004) when action resumes tomorrow (November 27) at the Grand Wing Casino, Newport World Resorts here.

The Final 8 of the APT Championships Event has four Filipinos, 1 Malaysian, 1 Englishman, 1 Australian and 1 American

After a riveting competition that had one elimination follow another to start he day, the ITM Bubble was finally breached when veteran Filipino tournament grinder Rico de la Cruz was waylaid in a classic race situation with his A K ran into Englishman William Fasano‘s Q Q and never got the break he needed to overturn the disadvantage.

Eventually, it was whittled down to the last nine players and then it took several hours before former chip-leader Lester Edoc was finally sidelined by Malaysia’s William Teoh in another coinflip situation with Edoc holding 7 7 and Teoh covered the Filipino and had two over cards in K J

Teoh immediately hit his Jack on the flop and followed that up with a Jack on the turn to eliminate the former Main vent titlist and set the finale for tomorrow.

The host nation is well represented in the Final 8 with four participants. Paul Kiem is from the United States, Li Lok Ching hails from Korea, Fasano is back from England and the current chip-leader is Teoh–who is making his second final table appearance in this event after finishing as runner-up to David Erquiaga last September.

Here is the complete cast of characters for the APT Championships Event Final 8 with the corresponding seat assignments and chip counts:

  1. William Teoh (MAS) – 3.070,00o (Seat 4)
  2. James Mendoza (PHI) – 2,830,000 (Seat 6)
  3. Li Lok Ching (AUS) – 1,370,000 (Seat 5)
  4. Renniel Galvez (PHI) – 1,235,000 (Seat 1)
  5. Paul Kiem (USA) – 1,195,000 (Seat 2)
  6. Bell Perez (PHI) – 900,000 (Seat 3)
  7. Boyet Drilon (PHI) – 605,000 (Seat 8)
  8. William Fasano (ENG) – 535,000 (Seat 7)