APT Championship Final 8 set, the Philippines’ Gopez leads

PASAY CITY, Philippines – In an epic Day 3 that was wrought with emotions, the Final 8 of the Asian Poker Tour (APT) Championship had it’s fair share of controversies, drama and great poker as the last 23 players battled it out and will all be returning tomorrow (September 18th) one step closer to the grand prize of PhP4,226,800.00 (US$74,142.00) here at the Grand Wing Casino, Newport World Resorts.

From the first elimination of the day in Filipino hopeful Richard “Hot Sauce” Marquez to the exit of Joris Micl of the Netherlands to trip the field down to the Final 16, and, of course, the bust out of England’s Alex Lindop at the hands of massive chip-leader Duroy Gopez of the Philippines to end hostilities in Day 3 and set up a riveting Finale in the series’ last day tomorrow (September 18th).

Duroy Gopez (PHI) is the massive chip-leader heading into the Finale

After the smoke cleared from a more than seven hour session that had 15 bust outs, here’s how they stack up and where the competitors will be positioned tomorrow:

Seat 1 – Duroy Gopez (PHI) 4,540,000                                                                                                                                         Seat 2 – Kunal Patni (IND) 435,000                                                                                                                                                    Seat 3 – Kim Jun Hee (KOR) 1,740,000                                                                                                                                        Seat 4 – Wen Fang Po (TPE) 635,000                                                                                                                                                  Seat 5 – Mike Takayama (PHI) 715,000                                                                                                                                              Seat 6 – William Teoh (MAS) 605,000                                                                                                                                                Seat 7 – David Erquiaga (PHI) 2,790,000                                                                                                                                    Seat 8 – Chang Jae Lee (KOR) 635,000 

At this point, all the remaining players are guaranteed PhP533,400.00 (US$9,356.00). 

The resumption begins at 1:30PM (UCT+8).