Samad Razavi Wins APT India Main Event and Crowned Player of the Year

A historic year has come to a close for the Asian Poker Tour with England’s Samad Razavi taking down the main event of the APT India 2012.

The pivotal hand in the heads up battle came when Razavi had pocket jacks against India’s Hussain Lakdawala’s pocket tens. The jacks held up to double up Razavi’s stack and leave Lakdawala with about 20 big blinds. The last hand of the three–hour match saw Lakdawala move all in with K 5 and get called by Razavi’s A 10 while the board ran out 5 Q J A 3.

Samad Razavi and Hussain Lakdawala with APT Tournament Staff

The win would be the icing on the cake for Sam as he was also crowned APT Player of the Year 2012. Going into India, he had a 300+ POY Points lead over closest contender, Martin Nilsson. Unfortunately, Nilsson was not able to close the gap.

2012 APT India Main Event Champion and Player of the Year Samad Razavi

Sam’s rise to the top of the APT POY ladder started off with a second place main event finish in the APT’s opening event for the year – the APT Asian Series Cebu. This was followed up by a series cashes at numerous APT events throughout the year. Defining him as APT Player of the Year are the other 14 cashes, Champion in 2 side events and another 3 Main Event Final Tables in Cebu, Macau and Cambodia.

APT Tournament Director Lloyd Fontillas with APT POY Runner Up Martin Nilsson

APT Player of the Year 2012 Top Ten Standings
Rank Name Country Championships ITM Points
1 Samad Razavi England 3 14 1955.80
2 Martin Sampath Nilsson Sweden 2 7 1085.40
3 Liam John Anderson Thailand 1 12 963.60
4 Tetsuya Tsuchikawa Japan 8 747.80
5 Marc Rivera Philippines 2 5 691.80
6 Abishek Goindi India 1 6 667.30
7 Conrad Coetzer South Africa 3 608.00
8 Sangeeth Mohan India 1 5 594.00
9 Hisashi Ogi Japan 2 8 590.00
10 Robert Browning Philippines 1 6 571.50

Check out the complete Asian Poker Tour India 2012 Event Results